Washington DUI Punishments
In the state of Washington, the government has set the “per se” blood alcohol content level to be 0.08%. Any driver who is pulled over, tested, and has a higher BAC level than that may be prosecuted for DUI. The maximum penalties associated with this offense are the following:
- First offense: 1 year of jail time, a $5000 fine, license revocation for one year, five years' probation, and possible treatment for alcohol abuse
- Second offense: 1 year of jail time, 90 days of electronic home detention, 900 days of license revocation, required driving exam, a $5000 fine, 5 years of probation, and possible treatment for alcohol abuse
- Third offense: 1 year of jail time, 150 days of electronic home detention, a $5000 fine, 4 years of license revocation, 5 years of probation, required driving exam, and possible treatment for alcohol abuse
If you have been pulled over for DUI, then you will need a good Seattle DUI defense lawyer from Cowan Kirk Kattenhorn to protect you in court.
If you would like to learn more about the Washington DUI laws, or if you have been charged with DUI, call the Seattle DUI defense lawyers of Cowan Kirk Kattenhorn today at 1-866-822-1230 to speak with a qualified attorney about your situation.