Close X

Penalties for a First DUI Offense

The penalties that are enacted by state and local law for certain violations are intended to reflect the socially perceived severity of the crime that they are supposed to address. It should come as no surprise then that the punishment for even a first DUI offense in the state of Washington can be quite substantial, without even beginning to take into account the far-reaching effects that a DUI charge or conviction might have on your family, social, and work life. Without adequate legal representation, you are apt to encounter harsher punishment than you would otherwise be given.

The Seattle DUI defense lawyers of Cowan Kirk Kattenhorn understand that people make mistakes and believe that you deserve an experienced legal advocate as you face the charges that have been filed against you. To begin protecting your interests, contact us at 866-822-1230 to speak directly with an attorney who can help.

The Penalties With and Without Breathalyzer Submission

When a police officer pulled you over because he or she believed that you were intoxicated, you were likely subjected to questioning and possibly one or more tests designed to ascertain the level of your impairment. One of the few mechanical measures used is the administration of a breathalyzer test. Whether a driver is legally bound to submit to a breathalyzer test is a matter that remains hotly contested, but there are harsher penalties imposed on a driver who refuses to do so.

The penalties for a first offense with a breathalyzer reading under .15 % or no test result include:

  • 1 day minimum in jail, 1 year maximum
  • Fine of $995-$5,000
  • Suspension of license for 90 days
  • Maintain SR 22 insurance for 3 years
  • Monitored probation, ignition interlock, and alcohol treatment or counseling may be mandated

The penalties for a first offense with refusal or a breathalyzer reading above .15 %:

  • 2 days minimum in jail, 1 year maximum
  • Fine of $1,200 -$5,000
  • Revocation of license for 1 year for above .15, 2 years for refusal
  • Maintain SR 22 insurance for 3 years
  • Mandatory ignition interlock device for 1 year minimum
  • Other penalties similar

Contact Us

Do not gamble with your freedom. Contact the Seattle DUI defense lawyers of Cowan Kirk Kattenhorn at 866-822-1230.

Cowan Kirk Kattenhorn

Ckk bw logo black

Cowan Kirk Kattenhorn is known throughout Washington and the nation for representing all of its clients with commitment, creativity and compassion. We recognize how devastating a DUI charge can be, particularly when our clients learn how incredibly tough Washington's DUI laws have become, even for a first-time offender.

Contact Us

If you need a DUI defense attorney in Seattle, Bellevue, or King County, contact us today to find out why respect for our clients, a passion for justice, and our commitment to winning have earned each of us the highest honor a member of the bar can receive from our colleagues – their referrals.